Date: 12/21/2017

Ray Allen + Grant Hill Eligible Candidates for the Class of 2018 HOF

SPRINGFIELD, MA – Today, December 21st, marks the Birthday of Basketball – the game that was invented by Dr. James Naismith in Springfield, Massachusetts and has grown into an international pastime. As part of the celebration of this momentous day, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has announced the eligible candidates for the Class of 2018, after revealing earlier in the week that players would now be eligible after just three seasons of retirement.

A first look at the list of eligible nominees was provided by The Jump on ESPN, hosted by Amin Elhassan and Hall of Famer Tracy McGrady. A complete list of eligible candidates can be found below.

A press conference announcing the Finalists from the North American and Women’s committee for the Class of 2018 will be held during NBA All-Star Weekend, which is scheduled for Saturday, February 17th in Los Angeles, California. The entire Class of 2018, including those selected by the direct elect committees, will be unveiled during the NCAA Final Four in San Antonio, Texas.

Enshrinement festivities will take place in Springfield, Mass., September 6-8, 2018. Tickets for the various Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2018 Enshrinement events are on sale as of noon eastern time on

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.

For more information:

Visit us online:

… on Facebook:

… on Twitter/Instagram: @hoophall #18HoopClass

… or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA


Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2018 Ballot

* Indicates First-Time Nominee

 North American Committee Nominations

  • Mark Aguirre (PLA)
  • Ray Allen (PLA)*
  • Chauncey Billups (PLA)*
  • Muggsy Bogues (PLA)
  • Irv Brown (REF)
  • Jim Burch (REF)
  • Maurice Cheeks (PLA)
  • Charles “Lefty” Driesell (COA)
  • Hugh Evans (REF)
  • Steve Fisher (COA)*
  • Bill Fitch (COA)
  • Cotton Fitzsimmons (COA)
  • Richard Hamilton (PLA)*
  • Tim Hardaway (PLA)
  • Ed Hightower (REF)*
  • Grant Hill (PLA)*
  • Bob Huggins (COA)*
  • Kevin Johnson (PLA)
  • Marques Johnson (PLA)
  • Bobby Jones (PLA)
  • Jerry “Tiger” Jones (COA)
  • Gene Keady (COA)
  • Ken Kern (COA)
  • Jason Kidd (PLA)*
  • Rollie Massimino (COA)
  • Gary McKnight (COA)
  • Danny Miles (COA)
  • Sidney Moncrief (PLA)
  • Dick Motta (COA)
  • Steve Nash (PLA)*
  • Jake O’Donnell (REF)
  • Jim Phelan (COA)
  • Lamont Robinson (PLA)
  • Lee Rose (COA)
  • Bo Ryan (COA)
  • Bob Saulsbury (COA)
  • Jack Sikma (PLA)
  • Steve Smith (COA)
  • Harry Statham (COA)
  • Eddie Sutton (COA)
  • Rudy Tomjanovich (COA)
  • Ben Wallace (PLA)
  • Chris Webber (PLA)
  • Willie West (COA)*
  • Paul Westphal (PLA)
error: Content is protected !!